The Blackout: Redux

I think it’s time for something new (hence the design change). For those that knew me November 2015, I took a break from social media. For my new friends, you can read the results of that here. I was going to wait until November to make this a yearly thing, but something told me now would be the best time to do it. I will not be posting on or checking any of my usual social media platforms. Unlike last year, I’m not taking a break because of burnout or anger.  But…I did realize I’m exhibiting a lot of the same behaviors as last year. The most concerning for me is my creativity. I put everything on hold for half of 2016, and when I did write I felt like it wasn’t the best I know I can do.

My biggest indicator of depression or needing a break is what music I listen to, or how I watch movies. When I was younger, I could find a new band or song I liked every week, and I was proud of my 10,000 song library. Now? I listen to the same 50 songs and my library hasn’t cracked the 5,000 mark in the last 3 years. Also, the last “new” songs I got are almost 2 years old. I decided to get back into movie reviews, but I can tell I’m not writing and observing as much as I used to.

I used to make the effort to review any genre and even made the time to watch anime. Lately, I stick with horror because it’s easy to riff on, and I pretty much write while on autopilot. I could watch a movie once and spit out a 500 word review with my usual brand of insight and comedy. Now, I have to watch a movie 2 or 3 times because I keep zoning out and missing key elements.  I feel like I’m just copying how I used to write, and attempting to sound as funny as I used to be. Something is going on in my head that’s not allowing me to enjoy the things I used to devote all of my free time to.

The spark is gone for me at the moment. That fire I was able to pour into my creativity got snuffed out within the last 3-4 months, and I want to take some time to get that back. I’m better off than I was last year, but I know recent events took their toll. I’m happier than I was, but now I can actually devote more time into finding myself without a stressful event hanging over me. I will still write on here for next 30 days like I did last time. I’m also going to take a break from writing reviews for the next month, mainly to hopefully gain some new ideas for lists and projects.

My main goal for doing this is basically giving my mind and soul a chance to recharge and heal from the last couple of months.  I’m probably not going to try and adhere to a strict posting schedule because I think that might defeat the purpose of why I’m doing this. I just want to sit back and decompress for a bit. To wrap this all up, here’s the song I was listening to when I decided it was time for a break. See you guys October 1st.

One thought on “The Blackout: Redux

Leave a Reply

